Tips For Mum

A great WordPress.com site

My Husband Is a Better Housekeeper

on June 21, 2014

Psst…. I have a secret that I’ve kept hidden from my friends for years. Why? because it is a tiny bit embarrassing. The secret – my husband is a better housekeeper than me. When I say better, I should say SO much better.

 

Image

Not Actual Husband – Stunt Husband (No husbands were harmed during the writing of this blog)

 

My husband and I first met when he advertised for a professional non-smoker to be his flatmate.   I may have many vices, but I can tell you – I am very good at not smoking. When my “husband to be” (lets call him HTB) was interviewing me for the flatmate position, I made full disclosure about my housekeeping (or lack thereof) skills. I told him that I was messy. I explained the following to HTB:

  • When I get home from work I kick my shoes off by the door, at the end of the week there is a collection;
  • Before washing the clothes, I continually forget to take the tissues out of my pockets, thus leaving the washing machine full of tiny white fluff;
  • I use a different cup each time I have a drink of coffee or tea;
  • I use every piece of kitchen paraphernalia when cooking;
  • The dining room table can disappear under a load of washed items that are never folded;
  • I read at least ten books at a time and they are spread all over the place;
  • I leave yellow sticky notes all around the place reminding me to do certain things; and
  • I never put anything back in the same place.

HTB told me he could live with all those things. I told him it was a deal. Seven years later HTB became “The Husband” (that in itself is a long and complicated story).

The Husband is a great housekeeper. Here are some of the things he does that will leave you in awe:

  • He never loses anything. Why? His rule is a place for everything and everything in its place (he puts his wallet and keys in the same place every day);
  • He never goes to work without the kitchen looking immaculate and the dishwasher emptied;
  • He irons all the clothes (although I have stopped him from ironing the jeans with a crease down the front and his underpants);
  • When I first met him he would leave both the Ice Cream and the Margarine completely flat (with no and I mean NO traces of vegemite or jam). He stills does that from time to time;

 

IMG_5784

Smooth (my husband’s approach)

IMG_5785

Dig In – My Approach

  • He makes the bed as soon as he gets out of it (sometimes this is a problem as I am not necessarily a jump out of bed woman!!);
  • He keeps all the plastic containers in the one place neatly stacked and with the lids underneath the stack (c’mon ladies that is impressive who has a plastics cupboard that they fear opening in case of an avalanche); and
  • He takes the clothes off the line, folds and then puts them away.

Image

So he is a great housekeeper, does this affect my self-esteem? Not in the slightest. I know there are things that my husband could never do, that I do without even raising a sweat. Let me just list a few (I am sure there are many more but I do not want to bore you with my accomplishments):

  • I can make a husband winning Chocolate Caramel Slice with five minutes notice (i.e. Honey forgot to tell you we have to take a plate into work today);
  • I can create, a podium winning, book week costume in a day;
  • I can find anything lost in a child’s room within minutes;
  • I can speed shop (20 items in 5 minutes or less);
  • I can create a crazy hair day “do” in the car, when I am told that it is crazy hair day at school today; and
  • I can whip up a meal for unexpected guests without going shopping ……..

I guess the moral of the story is that we operate well as a team and play to each other’s strengths (and I make a husband winning chocolate caramel slice).

Image

Husband Winning – Chocolate Caramel Slice

 

What household chores does your husband excel at?

Leave a Reply

